Reviews - Cajun Encounters Tour Company, New Orleans

Cajun Encounters Reviews

    review rating 5  My friends and I went on the Swamp Tour and it was absolutely amazing. Luca is a fantastic tour guide who knows so much about the plant and animal species of the wetlands! Luca is incredibly friendly and personable and by the interactions he had with the other tour guides, they seem to be fun too. He also gave us tips on where to eat during our stay and how to cook various Cajun staples. He was also knowledgeable on the history of the area and shared personal stories about Katrina. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend taking this tour on the first day of your stay so you’re equipped with great tips on places to go during your visit! Thanks for a great time, Luca!

    thumb Maria Malik
    10/27/2019

    review rating 5  My friends and I went on the Swamp Tour and it was absolutely amazing. Luca is a fantastic tour guide who knows so much about the plant and animal species of the wetlands! Luca is incredibly friendly and personable and by the interactions he had with the other tour guides, they seem to be fun too. He also gave us tips on where to eat during our stay and how to cook various Cajun staples. He was also knowledgeable on the history of the area and shared personal stories about Katrina. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend taking this tour on the first day of your stay so you’re equipped with great tips on places to go during your visit! Thanks for a great time, Luca!

    thumb Maria Malik
    10/20/2019

    review rating 5  Deep in the swamps of Louisiana, you will find a large pavilion that marks the beginning of a journey put together by the nice folks at Cajun Encounters. You immediately feel welcomed by the nice staff at the check in counter, where they give you wrist band according to your group. If you're lucky enough, you may get Captain Emmet. Captain Emmet is a local with all the proper knowledge, skills, abilities and jokes to make your swamp tour enjoyable. You'll learn about the oldest operated raise bridge in LA, you'll see alligators, wild pigs, native birds, trees, plants and locals watching Saints games. This tour was very cool! Thank you Captain Emmet for making this an enjoyable experience for all of us. Also, props to your swamp navigation skills second to none in all the land. A++++ would recommend.

    thumb Eric Randall
    10/13/2019

    review rating 5  Even better than expected. We thought we may happen to see some wild life... there’s no way you couldn’t with Capt Luka! He called the gators with a sound, and seven came swimming up to the boat. He fed them and shared exciting local knowledge of the bayou. We even saw wild boars and raccoons in their natural habitat. Awesome encounter. We will be coming back. One of the best tours we’ve taken.

    thumb Linette Capritta
    10/12/2019

    review rating 5  So much fun! Capt. Eddie was great. We went on the boat tour and also booked the transportation too. I would highly recommend that option. Saw amazing animal and plant life. Getting so close to the gators was a once in a lifetime experience.

    thumb SP
    10/07/2019

    review rating 5  What an awesome experience! JD was our tour guide and was fun and knowledgeable. He grew up in the area and included fun little stories and history. We saw tons of Gators and they got them to come right up to the boat! We even saw a few wild boars. The only downside is that it's a long day. We did the 10:15 pickup and didn't return until 3:45 and food is not included in the tour. The gift shop has some snacks, but nothing really substantial. We also had an amazing bus driver! Her name was Danielle and she made the long ride a lot of fun and included some local history along the way! I highly recommend Cajun Encounters!

    thumb Alicia Rabadon
    10/05/2019

    review rating 5  Driver (Kimberly) was real friendly and informative. Capt. Wade was also great...very knowledgeable! Saw lots of gators as well as some coons and one boar, various turtles. Tour was a nice mix of bayou and more brackish areas. In addition to the animals and reptiles, lots of great info about the trees and ecosystem in general, and finally, highlighting some of the still remaining signs of Katrina.

    thumb David Ferrand
    9/27/2019

    review rating 5  I had little hope coming in as I usually have no luck and never see anything in wildlife sighting tours. My luck quickly turned around with captain Wade! He was very knowledgeable, funny and a skilled driver. I had the chance to learn about and see with my very own eyes all kinds of animals (turtles, racoons, boars, giant spiders, snails nests and of course an abundance of alligators!). Our captain made sure to move the boat around so that everyone would get a chance to see every animal up close. I could only recommend this tour.

    thumb Sarah Marchand-Lacoursière
    9/26/2019

    review rating 5  Capt. Chris was a great tour guide. He was very informative and detailed in his explanation about what we came across the tour. He went above and beyond to make our experience the best that we can remember. We not only encountered up close alligators but we also came up close to a wild hog and her babies. He was also able to explain about the surrounding nature. On top of that he was very funny and kept the vibe going, especially with his story telling. Great sense of humor throughout the tour. I would definitely recommend to ask for CAPTAIN CHRIS @ CAJUN ENCOUNTERS 🐊🤘

    thumb George Daskalothanasis
    9/12/2019

    review rating 5  This was the best part of my visit to New Orleans. At first, I would have been completely happy with like a 30 minute swamp tour. This tour exceeded all expectations and it was about an hour and a half. We lucked out, our tour was at 5pm approaching dusk temperatures so a nice and cool day/night transition on the bayou. This place is clean, organized, and professional. We got our vouchers off of Expedia (I recommend doing that), and as soon as we arrived, they pointed us in the right direction, got our wrist bands, sat, and was quickly guided onto our boat. Stephen was awesome and knowledgeable and his jokes added to the already great and entertaining experience. We saw around 10 gators on this tour, a wild pig and raccoon duo, birds, plant-life, and a Cajun Village - again, this was the best part of my visit and I highly recommend this tour company.

    thumb Bryan DeMinico
    9/07/2019

    review rating 5  This was so fun! We had an interesting tour in the bus on the way to the boat. The company is very organized, and everything went smoothly. We loved our captain and we saw lots of gators and other wildlife. Be prepared that it's pretty hot, but you get a breeze when the boat is in motion. Don't miss this on your trip!

    thumb Sharlissa Moore
    9/07/2019

    review rating 5  Capt Sonny is awesome! Was cracking up, he had a great sense of humor and navigated well. He was also very informative on everything there is to know in the swamp and then some. Even our tour bus driver Scott was cracking jokes and made the ride out interesting with facts about the city, which we weren’t expecting. It was really nice to escape the chaos of the city. There is so much more to appreciate outside the FQ.

    thumb Katie Sedan
    9/05/2019

    review rating 5  I absolutely enjoyed Captain Eddie. The staff was friendly. The staff was helpful. The shuttle driver, Alfred, was awesome. Alfred was knowledgable. He was shared historical facts and personal stories. He made the entire bus feel comfortable. I've been on other swamp tours in different states and they don't even compare. Captain Eddie is the best. I loved the way he engaged each rider and how he and the other Captains joked and made the trip an adventure. I took so many pictures that my battery died. Best trip this year... We will be back...

    thumb Taff Rivers Jr.
    8/24/2019

Your Adventure Starts Today!